Child adoption services Joliet IL

Can I take my child out of state if I have custody?

There are times when a parent must relocate. They may be moving for work or to care for a sick family member. Whatever the case, They must adhere to Illinois law for child relocation.

The Notice

If the parent has equal parenting time or majority parenting time, they must comply with the Illinois Relocation law. That parent must notify the other parent in writing at least 60 days before moving that they plan to relocate the child or children. A copy of the notice must also be filed with the court.

The notice must include:

  • The date of the move
  • The new address
  • If the move is temporary (and if so the anticipated duration) or permanent.

Merely Moving or Relocating?

A parent who is moving a child faces two different kinds of moves, merely moving or relocation:

  • Merely Moving – The parent is moving the children 25 miles or less of the primary address of the child in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, or Will Counties or 50 miles in the other counties.
  • Relocating – The parent is moving the children more than 25 miles from the primary address of the child in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, or Will Counties or 50 miles in the other counties.

If you want to relocate your children, a family law attorney can help you make sure that you comply with all current Illinois laws. Contact the knowledgeable, experienced attorneys at Granholm & Gynac for help and guidance. We’re here to help.

Related Posts

Menu